English 8 (Ms. Gillespie)

Welcome to English 8! Course Outline Homework: Study your Short Story Elements and Poetry Package for the final exam Final Exam - Fri., Jun. 23 (8:30 - 11:00) Progress Reports - were given out Tues., Jun. 6 (please check in with your son/daughter) Poetry Test - Monday, June 5 (study devices) Tues., 6 - Fri., Jun. 9 - Read / Discussion "Twelfth Night" Shakespeare play Mon., Jun. 5 - Test Poetry Fri., Jun. 2 - Review Poetic Devices / Practice Poem devices/meaning for test Monday Thurs., Jun. 1 - Superman Songs - devices and meaning / go over for test and exam Wed., May 31 - Rhyme Patter / Ballad and Epic / Go over Personification Tues., May 30 - Rhyme Pattern / Alliteration questions - "Maggie and Milly and Molly and May" Mon., May 29 - Go over Musical Poetry and allow for changes - hand in Fri., May 26 - Musical Poetry Thurs., May 25 - Musical Poetry Wed., May 24 - Personification / Alliteration Tues., May 23 - Haiku and Diament Poems Check and hand in / I Am A Rock devices and song meaning Mon., May 22 - Victoria Day - no school Fri., May 19 - Pro D - no school Thurs., May 18 - Mark Reading Comprehension / Go over Simile, Metaphor, and other devices  Wed., May 17 - Independent Reading / Poetry - Onomatopoeia, Oxymoron, Hyperbole, and Alliteration - writing examples Tues., May 16 - New Chapter Titles Competition / Go over poetry work Mon., May 15 - Finish Poetry Booklet (Similes and Metaphors)/ Find poetic devices in the following poems and explain each poem's meaning (Crossroads text - pg 135, 148, and 180 Fri., May 12 - Hand in Concrete Poems /Independent Reading / Reading Comprehension / Similes and Metaphors poetry package Thurs., May 11 - Independent Reading / Reading Comprehension  / Concrete Poems Wed., May 10 - Independent Reading / Concrete Poems - due Friday * Progress Reports given to students to take home Tues., May 9 - Movie - "The Outsiders" -bring snacks to share Mon. May 8 - Movie - "The Outsiders" - bring snacks to share OUTSIDERS PROJECT Fri., May 5 - Projects - The Outsiders (Due Mon., May 8) Thurs., May 4 - Projects - The Outsiders Wed., May 3 - Projects - The Outsiders Tues., May 2 - Edit/Revise multi-paragraphs The Outsiders /Projects - The Outsiders (Due Mon., May 8) Mon., May 1 - Edit/Revise multi-paragraphs The Outsiders Homework: New Chapter Titles - Wed., Apr. 26 Fri., Apr. 28 - Write multi - paragraphs The Outsiders / Second draft / Brainstorm The Outsiders Project Thurs., Apr. 27 - Notes on story elements The Outsiders /discuss possible theme questions for multi-paragraphs  Wed., Apr. 26 - students present mini lessons / Notes - themes and story elements The Outsiders / Project organization / Hand in New Chapter Titles Tues., Apr. 25 - 6 students present mini lessons / The Outsiders Ch. 11-12 / New Ch. Titles Ch. 11-12 /Project Criteria presented Mon., Apr. 24 - 6 students present mini lessons / The Outsiders Ch. 10 / New Ch. Titles Ch. 10 Homework - Have your mini lesson ready to present for Monday (1-2 mins.) Fri., Apr. 21 - Ch. 9 The Outsiders / New Chapter Titles Ch. 9 / Mini presentations - be ready for Monday Thurs., Apr. 20 - no class / Mass with Archbishop Miller Wed., Apr. 19 - Edit paragraph and complete a second draft (choice between the last two paragraphs) - hand in by the end of class Tues., Apr. 18 - Writing paragraphs (answering a peer's question regarding The Outsiders) Happy and Blessed Easter! Thurs., Apr. 13 - Reading Comprehension - this one counts / Progress Reports sent home Wed., Apr. 12 - The Outsiders Ch. 8 / New Chapter Titles - Ch. 8 / mini presentations Tues., Apr. 11 - The Outsiders Ch. 7 / New Chapter Titles - Ch. 7 / Grammar - continue Mon., Apr. 10 - Class Discussion /The Outsiders Ch. 7 / Grammar - Run-on Sentences Fri., Apr. 7 - Read Ch. 6 The Outsiders / New Chapter Titles - Ch. 6 / Grammar Thurs., Apr. 6 - Reading Comprehension Practice / Written paragraph in class- "What quote or passage is interesting or important?"  Choose any from chapter 1 - 5. Wed., Apr. 5 - Read Ch. 5 The Outsiders / New Titles Ch. 5 / Grammar - sentence fragments Tues., Apr. 4 - Read Ch. 5 The Outsiders / New Titles Ch. 5  (3 pages)/ Mini Presentations / Grammar - pg. 3 in booklet Mon., Apr. 3 - Read Ch. 4 The Outsiders / New Titles Ch. 4 / Mini Presentations Fri., Mar. 31 - Hand in Character Charts / The Outsiders Ch. 3 / New Title for Ch. 3 Thurs., Mar. 30 - Reconciliation / work on Character Charts / Ch. 3 The Outsiders (2 pages) Independent Novel - We will be silent reading at the beginning of each class for 15 mins.  Please bring your independent novel to each class.  The first assignment will be due after Spring Break. Wed., Mar. 29 - Read Ch. 2 and part of Ch. 3 - Create New Ch. Titles / Work on Character Chart in small groups - due Thurs. Tues., Mar. 28 - Complete Independent Novel Assignment in class Mon., Mar. 27 - Read Ch. 1 and part of 2 The Outsiders / Go over Character Chart Assignment - work in groups to complete - due Thursday SPRING BREAK Fri., Mar. 10 - Chapter One The Outsiders / New Chapter Titles - Chapter One / New Chapter Title for Ch. 1 Thurs., Mar. 9 - Introduction "The Outsiders" - S.E. Hinton Wed., Mar. 8 - Fairy Tale Movie - The Princess Bride Tues., Mar. 7 - Fairy Tale Movie - The Princess Bride Mon., Mar. 6 - Quiz Story Elements / Reading Comprehension practice Test - There will be a test at the end of this unit on Story Elements Notes (Mon., Mar. 6) Due Date: Hero Visual Quilt Square - Mon., Mar. 6 Fri., Mar. 3 - Work on visual piece for Hero Assignment - due Mon. Thurs., Mar. 2 - Work on Story Elements from "The Parsley Garden" / Reading Comprehension #1 Wed., Mar. 1 - Finish reading "The Parsley Garden" / Discussion about story elements/ Write out Story elements Tues., Feb. 28 - Read "The Parsley Garden" / Introduction to Hero Visual Assignment (Hero Quilt Square) Mon., Feb. 27 - Edit Hero paragraphs / Second draft of paragraphs - Due Wed. Fri., Feb. 24 - Finish 1st draft of Hero Paragraph / mini presentations Thurs., Feb. 23 - Brainstorm, organize, and begin Hero Paragraph Wed., Feb. 22 - Paragraph Writing Process - Your Everyday Hero / Brainstorm and Organization Tues., Feb. 21 - Finish paragraph (A Hero's Welcome) / Choose one of two written pieces to edit and hand in ("Snow Day" or "Da Trang") / read independent novel Mon., Feb. 20 - Write paragraph answer ("A Hero's Welcome) Fri., Feb. 17 - Notes - Story Elements (finished)/ Finish reading "A Hero's Welcome" - discussion Thurs., Feb. 16 - Listen to podcast CBC - Storyteller: Stuart McLean "Dave Cooks the Turkey"/ RIP to our fellow Canadian / Read "A Hero's Welcome" (pg 59 in text) Wed., Feb. 15 - Notes - Story Elements /Finish sharing fables, myths, and fairy tales/ Homework - Choose an "everyday hero" to write about next week (they must be an adult and you must know them personally) Tues., Feb. 14 - Hand in descriptive paragraph - Snow / Notes - Story Elements / Share fables, myths, and fairy tales Mon., Feb. 13 - no school - Family Day Thurs., Feb. 9 - Fri., Feb. 10 - no school - Catholic Educators' Conference Wed., Feb. 8 - Write a descriptive paragraph about snow (6-10 sentences).  Think about what it smells, feels, and looks like.  What does it feel like to walk and play in it.  Due next week Tues. Tues., Feb. 7 - Read your novel (independent one from school or another one you read at home for homework) for 1 hour / have your fable/fairy tale ready for next week Mon., Feb. 6 - Write a short fable, myth, or fairy tale (1 pg or less) / base the story around a lesson or explain how something came to be / you organized the ideas on Friday / be ready to read aloud on Tues. Fri., Feb. 3 - No class - Big Bear games Thurs., Feb. 2 - "Feathers In the Wind" fable / discussion / organize a fairy tale, myth, or fable in pairs Wed., Feb. 1 - Da Trang Questions / Fairy tale Elements - Notes Mon., Jan. 30 - Tues., Jan. 31 - Course Outline /Class expectations/ Library - sign out a novel / Parent Signatures on Course Outline due Tues. / Da Trang Folktale  I am looking forward to this new semester and I sincerely hope that each of you have already experienced, and will continue to experience, a marvelous first year at SJB.  English 8 will focus on expanding students’ literary knowledge and linguistic skills.  Students will have opportunities to practice written and oral communication, as well as analytical and critical thinking. God Bless, Miss Gillespie

Comments are closed.